Daredevil Season 2

daredevil-vs-punisher-1

Boy ain’t Daredevil like a breath of fresh air?

Though I enjoyed the first season I did find it similar to the first season of Arrow and for that reason it didn’t resonate with me as much as it did other fans.

Additionally I found the gangsters inept, incompetent and foolish none of them seemed real to me, which I guess doesn’t matter Daredevil is a TV show based upon a comic book and not set in our real world.

I also found The Kingpin to be a totally ineffectual character who could not have been a criminal mastermind binding disparate and rival criminal organisations together. I figure a character like Wilson Fisk would have been mocked and laughed at by other criminals not allowed to subjugate and dominate them.

However Daredevil season two features a far more interesting adversary for The Man Without Fear, Frank Castle is, and isn’t, a hero, he’s a murderous sociopath, a serial killer, a man prepared to do what no one in the real world’s ever dared do, try and wipe criminal scum off the face of the planet.

I’m not a violent, or aggressive person myself, and I don’t have an interest in serial killers or their motivations they’re monsters very real monsters who look just like me and just like you, because in the real world monsters are all too human. Though I don’t hero worship serial killers I would admire a serial killer who only targeted criminals, gangsters, pimps, drug dealers, thieves and robbers, rapists and murderers. It might make me sound kinda evil, bloodthirsty, but I’d love to live in a world in which criminal scum was annihilated, no fuss, no need for due process, just their dirty filthy bodies riddled with bullets.

The Punisher was never a character I ever had any interest in and then I read Punisher MAX, by Garth Ennis, the opening scenes in which he exterminates the Mafia is an absolute delight.

I’ve only watched the first episode of Daredevil season two and I was pleased to see a swift battle between The Punisher and Daredevil a battle that see’s The Punisher win, naturally in the comic book battles Daredevil has tended to hand The Punisher his ass and rightly so Daredevil has heightened senses and awesome martial arts skills, The Punisher is merely a hard as nails ex Special Forces headcase, he’d be difficult to beat in a fight but, and this is just my opinion, the man attired entirely in red would win the day.

With a Batman versus Superman movie looming, and a bad idea in comic books as well as the movies for the simple reason The Batman wouldn’t stand a chance, not one, not even wearing an Iron Man style suit of armour Superman would kick his ass in seconds but because The Batman’s more popular, for whatever fucked up reasons, The Batman will not only hold his own against the Man of Steel he’ll probably win. And sigh!

Now considering who would win between Daredevil and The Batman is a far more interesting premise, and a movie I’d, personally, prefer to see, yes I do know Daredevil is a Marvel Comics owned character and The Batman DC, still come on Batman versus Superman, who comes up with these crazy ideas?

Why not instead make a sequel to the most AWESOME movie Dredd? I know, for whatever fucked up reasons, Dredd didn’t do very well at the box office but that’s only because everyone, including myself, is a fucking idiot.

Leave a Reply

