Black and White Ink

Buffy-1

I consider myself a bit of a comic book geek/nerd. I LOVE comic books, and yes I know social convention dictates that by the time a man hits forty he should have abandoned childish things been married at least once and have at least one kid, and be rampantly obsessed with tits and pussy.

That ain’t me. It’s never been me I LOVE comic books and I’m perfectly happy spending my free time, all of it, immersed in worlds of comic book cheery, and grim, goodness. To Hell with social conventions. Marriage, children, steady relationships seem, to me, the stuff of nightmares.

I guess I’m just a mild mannered misanthrope.

The illustration at the top of the page is the cast of the TV series Buffy the Vampire Slayer, a show I still have great affection for, and I must get around to watching it once again, I could do with winning the jackpot on a lottery so I don’t have to go to work and have enough free time to pursue the things I enjoy, reading comic books, writing and drawing, wasting hours indoors on the hottest day of the year watching episode after episode of a TV boxset.

Pendragon

The above illustration is of a character named Lady Pendragon. I wanted to draw a warrior type woman in a tricky situation involving a monster that was Lovecraftian in nature.

I re-discovered these, and other, drawings only recently while managing to avoid household chores and instead flicking through a big pile of illustrations and picking a select few for the purpose of keeping up my recent return to blogging.

Spidey

The above illustration was page two of a five page Marvel Team-Up story I had written with the intent of posting the finished product online as a webcomic but then I figured, along with a Marvel Two-in-One five page comic I had written, it’s probably illegal to use Marvel Comics characters in my own webcomic so I erred on the side of caution abandoning my ideas, which seemed great at the time and still seem great now.

Creating the above page was a lot of fun I really, really enjoyed drawing Spidey fighting a bunch of Mindless Ones. Stuff (i.e. everything other than illness and death) in life should be fun. Bring happy cheer. Make one smile and/or laugh. If stuff (i.e. anything we do) produces the opposite of fun/happy cheer/smiles and laughs then what’s the fucking point doing it?

Leave a Reply

