Top Five Movies

1 Jaws

2 The Thing

3 Enter the Dragon

4 Evil Dead II: Dead by Dawn

5 Superman: The Movie and Superman II

Naturally when I say Top Five Movies it’s my own personal favourites that I’m discussing I doubt anyone, with any accuracy, can point out that there are five movies that are better than all the rest.

The top five grossing movies of all time are:

1 Avatar: Which is just an awful movie.

2 Titanic: I’ve never watched it so I can’t make comment.

3 Star Wars: The Force Awakens. The original Star Wars and Empire are better.

4 Jurassic World: Another ‘un I’ve never seen.

5 The Avengers: Cracking movie.

The highest grossing movies adjusted for inflation are:

1 Gone With The Wind

2 Avatar

3 Star Wars

4 Titanic

5 The Sound of Music

Just because a movie is really, stupidly, popular doesn’t necessarily mean it’s any good I’ve seen both Gone With The Wind and The Sound of Music once a piece I have no interest ever watching either movie again, not my types of movie. I’d never watch Titanic because I know the ending, ship hits an iceberg, ship sinks, just about everyone dies, The End!

My Top Five Movies all mean something to me, all made an impact on my precious little life and my top five could have been in any order because I don’t favour one movie over the others.

Jaws

IMG_0422

Jaws is without a doubt, in my mind, the best made of all five movies, it’s damn near perfect, the way Spielberg had to imply the ocean was full of monstrous teeth because of the robot shark failing most of the time made for a better movie, made for more tension and horror. I still remember watching the movie for the first time as a kid, I don’t know for sure how old I was maybe about six or seven, and the scene in which Hooper, the most excellent Richard Dreyfuss, dives at night to the wrecked small boat of an experienced fisherman and the fisherman’s severed head pops out and scares him also scared me and a glass of milk I was enjoying went everywhere much to the anger and dismay of my parents.

The three main characters, excluding the shark, of Jaws are perfection personified, Roy Scheider, Richard Dreyfuss and the brilliant Robert Shaw as Quint. The film is paced to perfection, it looks great I had the great good fortune to be able to watch a re-mastered version when it was re-released a few years ago and managed to achieve a life long goal of watching the fantastic movie at the pictures and it’s not just a tense thriller, or horror, movie it’s a film full of moments of exquisite joy, the beach scenes before the blood and tragedy, the hunting of the Great White out at sea, joyful, exquisite, beautiful.

The Thing

IMG_0423

Well what can anyone say about The Thing? Other than the fact it’s the best horror movie ever made. The best setting of any horror movie, though the spaceship setting of Alien comes a close second, and the best monster of any horror movie, again with the monster from Alien coming a close second.

The SFX of The Thing are actually special, something that I can’t say about SFX in modern movies, meh, it’s like watching a Playstation video game these days.

It’s Carpenter and Russell, they should have made a million great movies together, they never put a foot wrong, though Escape From LA has its detractors I still love it.

And then there’s that ambiguous ending. Is Childs The Thing?

I’ll never know.

Enter the Dragon

IMG_0424

Bruce Lee at his very best. THE best Bond movie, without Bond naturally, and one of the most inspirational movies ever made. Marvel Studios should remake this movie but call it Master of Kung-Fu featuring Shang Chi and the horribly sinister Fu Manchu.

Enter the Dragon became a cultural phenomenon and go pick up a martial arts magazine, any of them, and they still go on and on and on about Enter the Dragon because it’s just that good and Bruce Lee that AWESOME!

Evil Dead II: Dead By Dawn

The first superhero versus evil monsters horror movie and an introduction to the best horror hero EVER! Ash Williams played by the laugh out loud funny Bruce Campbell.

There’s not one bad thing about Evil Dead II from the camera work to Ash becoming possessed, to the sun setting once Ash discovers he’s trapped, to his hand attacking him and Ash having no choice but to cut it off with a chainsaw, to ‘groovy’.

Groovy

An absolutely brilliant tour-de-force of non-stop insanity.

More than any movie this is the one I love the most.

Superman: The Movie and Superman II

IMG_0425

Yes I know they’re two separate movies but I class them as one.

Without a doubt in my mind the best superhero, and comic book, movie ever made. Christopher Reeve captures the essence of both Clark Kent and Superman perfectly, and it’s the best version of Superman, Pre-Crisis On Infinite Earths, the Superman who was actually SUPER and the movie features the best quote in any movie ever.

‘Live as one of them, Kal-El, to discover where your strength and your power are needed. But always hold in your heart the pride of your special heritage. They can be a great people, Kal-El, they wish to be. They only lack the light to show the way. For this reason above all, their capacity for good, I have sent them you… my only son.’

And the best theme song.

Take a look at the cast, the perfect Superman, who made me believe a man could fly, Christopher Reeve, Margot Kidder, Gene Hackman, Ned Beatty, Jackie Cooper, Glenn Ford, Trevor Howard, Terence Stamp, Susannah York, Larry Hagman, John Ratzenberger, and get this, it seems too insane to be true, Marlon Brando in the role of Jor-El, yeah you read that right, FUCKING BRANDO!

I actually had tears, of joy, in my eyes as I wrote about Superman I and II, real roll down my cheek tears, awesome, awesome, awesome movie. My entertainment later tonight and the early hours of tomorrow morning.

 

Leave a Reply

