Early Morning Happiness

CIMG2448

One of the reasons I find it difficult to be unhappy is because when I wake up leave my bedroom and enter my living room I’m greeted with shelves full of geek stuff. Too much stuff. DC and Marvel comic book collections, big chunky editions of The Walking Dead, a small selection of Manga and hundreds of DVDs. Upon arrival home from work this same geek stuff brings a big smile to my stupid face.

I LOVE IT!

I love all my stuff it makes me happy that’s the reason I can’t stop buying it, or don’t want to stop buying it, I guess it’s like an addiction, but rather than one that’s detrimental to my physical and mental health this addiction as all kinds of awesome benefits.

The only downside to owning so much geek stuff is I quickly run out of space. I was wishing, only the other day, that I’d kept everything, not sold, gave away or thrown away any of the geek stuff I’d accumulated at some point, but if I still owned everything I’d need a huge mansion or two houses to store all the ace geek stuff and I can’t afford a mansion or two houses because I am poor.

Being poor makes me happy. All the negative aspects of my life that would make other people unhappy make me happy, I realised this recently while having conversations with other people and they expressed distress at every day things I do and don’t do, for example, daily exercise and making the five mile plus walk to work, preferring night shifts to daytime shifts, not using mobile phones, not eating at fast food restaurants, not drinking or smoking, never having used drugs or medicines and never having watched a celebrity TV show or something like The X-Factor.

It’s possible I’m the only person other people have met who is like this so obviously I’m a weirdo but from my perspective people who don’t walk, or moan if they have to make a fifteen minute walk are weird. People who have their mobile phones in constant use are weird. People who eat regularly at McDonalds are weird. Drinking alcohol every day and smoking cigarettes is weird. Using illegal narcotics is weird (and naughty) being medicated is weird. Being obsessed with celebs is weird. Watching The X-Factor is weird.

Weird is all a matter of perspective, but if all the things I find weird make other people as happy as my geek stuff makes me then good for them it’s better than smoking, drinking heavily, using drugs, being celeb obsessed and those things, and many more, making a person unhappy. It really would be weird if smokers are unhappy smoking but continue to do so feeling more unhappy with each puff of a cigarette, or drinkers unhappy with the amount they drink but continue to drink the same amount continuously without sign of stopping.

My addiction to geek stuff costs on average about two hundred quid a month if I stopped buying comic books and DVDs I’d accumulate enough cash to go jetting off around the world several times a year but to be perfectly honest I’ve no real interest in travel, visiting exotic locales wouldn’t make me happy I’d probably be unhappy, on days away from work I prefer being home alone surrounded by all the geek stuff that makes me immediately happy early in a morning and continues to bring me happiness throughout the rest of my day.

That’s the thing with this life we’re all experiencing we’ve got to find the things that make us happy and stick to them, no matter what, and if other people express negative views of the geek stuff you like me love, fuck ’em, it’s our life and it’s full of geeky, love it and ignore the naysayers they’re all fucking miserable anyways.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

