Sunday Morning Fun

I ensured I was up an extra hour before I needed to be this morning, 04:00 instead of 05:00, I usually get up at 05:00 most mornings, even when I’m not at work to go for a two hour walk it makes me happy going out before sun rise and then watching the morning go from darkness to light it reminds me of this:

“Well, once there was only dark. You ask me, the light’s winning.”

My reason for an extra hour of consciousness was so I could happily read David Icke’s latest masterpiece:

CIMG2451

For me, and this is just my opinion, Icke’s books are masterpieces and his warnings of doom and gloom have become a reality, the world he imagined back in The Biggest Secret (1999) is the world we live in today, again in my opinion.

Something that leapt out at me during the reading of this new master work was this, ‘it doesn’t matter what people think about you, only what you think about you’, this captures how I operate in this mad, perhaps illusionary, world we all exist upon, I have zero interest in what people think about me, I don’t care, I only care about what I think about me and though I’m aware of all my many flaws I’m also aware I AM AWESOME! (and delusional).

We tend to live in societies nowadays in which far too many people are concerned about what other people think about them, or how people treat them, when I’m sat at home during the day, my living room window open, writing or drawing at my work desk I hear people in my hometown stressing out, in rage, at what other people think about them, how they’ve been treated, what someone’s said, all that stress and rage explodes in shouting, screaming, swearing, no one’s laughing because someone thinks they’re a dick or a bitch, but why?

Everyone in my hometown could consider me a dick, I wouldn’t care in fact I’d find it HIGH-larious, I have zero interest in anyone in my hometown, I’m so uninterested in my fellows that I don’t really know anyone in my hometown and I have zero contact with people from my hometown, now I know not everyone can be like me, most people want people to like them, and most people want to be part of a community or tribe but if it’s causing them so much stress and rage why bother?

Why not, if they’re going to pursue popularity, interact with dozens of people, have one hundred Facebook friends and counting, adopt an attitude that prevents them from being stressed and enraged by what people think and what people say? Surely that’s a better way to live.

Personally I don’t know a dozen people, and I have seven Facebook friends, I don’t wish to acquire more, and I certainly wouldn’t want to interact with dozens of people on a daily basis it would be too much, too much moaning, too much bragging, too much information about stuff I have no interest in, though I interact with only a small amount of people I still have to suffer people telling me about The X-Factor and Britain’s Got Talent, when I inform them I’ve never watched either show and in general I don’t watch TV it doesn’t stop them droning on and on about something I have zero interest in, in return I don’t discuss Icke or comic books (my favourite past time) I have this blog it’s my place to express my happiness and joy at the things I love it prevents me being the type of geek who discusses with everyone, including strangers, the origins of superheroes and why the movies and TV shows fail to capture the essence of the comic book characters.

From sitting down with a cup of tea, at about 04:15, to writing this post at about 05:00 I’ve been happily immersed in things that make me happy, there’s been a gentle, yet firm, wind blowing through my hometown it’s been a sedentary peaceful morning, which is unusual for a Sunday morning there are usually people still drunk wandering home from nightclubs, these people are always arguing even if they’re on their own they’re arguing loudly over their phones with, what I assume, is a loved one.

Phantom Self is a book about how we’ve been conditioned to behave in a certain fashion, to believe in certain things, to adopt a herd mentality, to embrace tribalism, to not think for ourselves, there’s much more to it than that I’m merely summarising, in any given society the themes expressed by Icke are true all of us are brainwashed and manipulated we’re supposed to be the same, think the same, believe the same things, be basic, be idiots, want the same things, cherish the same things, need the same things.

Social structures, family, friends these are the three ideas drummed into us from an early age, and not necessarily in that order, we’re all supposed to want relationships that lead to a mortgage, debt, children, we’re all expected to be what society demands is normal, ‘normal is getting dressed in clothes that you buy for work and driving through traffic in car that you are still paying for – in order to get to the job you need to pay for the clothes and the car, and the house you leave vacant all day so you can afford to live in it.’

It’s as though George Orwell’s 1984 happened but none of us noticed it because we had, ‘the care of home and children, petty quarrels with neighbours, films, football, beer and above all, gambling’ to consume our precious time.

Leave a Reply

